Clean air monitoring committee formed

BAGUIO CITY – With the approved city ordinance no. 18, series of 2016 otherwise known as the Environment Code of the city of Baguio to continuously preserve the environment for the sake of the constituents of the city and its future generations, acting city mayor, vice mayor

Edison Bilog issued administrative order no. 158 creating the Clean Air Monitoring Committee.

The committee will prepare an Ambient Air Quality Management Plan to be approved by the city council; represent the city of Baguio to the Air Shed Board pursuant to the Clean Air Act; review existing policies related to air and recommend amendments to the city council including formulation of new policies to improve air quality in the city; monitor compliance to all regulations set forth in the environment Code and make periodic reports to the city mayor as basis for policy decisions; establish a database of all pollution emitting sources in coordination with the Department of Environment and Natural Resources, the Department of Trade and Industry, the Department of Transportation and Communications, the Philippine Economic Zone Authority, the Technical Education and Skills Development Authority and other concerned agencies.

Also, they will monitor all pollution emitting sources in the city and Roadside and Monitoring Team (RITMT) operations; ensure the continuing training and certification of Clean Air Monitoring Committee and its RITMT operatives with the TESDA, DENR and Land Transportation Office-Department of transportation and Communications; ensure that all RITMT emission testing machine operators have passed required trainings and are certified fit to operate the same by the TESDA, DENR and/or LTO-DTC; prepare information, education and communication campaign materials on air for dissemination to the public through schools, barangays and mass media; and establish a hotline where the public can report smoke-belching and all other forms of emission polluting Baguio.

City environment and parks management officer Cordelia Lacsamana will chair the Clan Air Monitoring Committee with members: acting city engineer Edgar Victorio Olpindo, city planning and development officer Engr. Evelyn Cayat, city building official engr. Nazita BaƱez, city health officer Dr. Rowena Galpo, Philippine National Police Director and representatives of the DENR, DTC, private emission testing center, academe, accredited environmental non-governmental organization and transport sector. /Jho Arranz


Visitor Counter