Creation of Baguio heritage council proposed

BAGUIO – The city council approved on first reading a proposed ordinance creating the Baguio Heritage Council, providing funds and formally identifying and declaring as heritage zones, sites, markers and buildings and structures in various areas in the city

The ordinance authored by Councilor Leandro B. Yangot, Jr. seeks to declare as heritage zones, Camp John Hay and Loakan airport; heritage building structures the site of the Baguio stone market, Plaza Theater, Arevalo building, Philippine National Bank building, SM building, Pines Arcade, Laperal Building, Baguio Country Club, Casa Vallejo, Mateo Cariño house in Camp 7, Baden Powell, 1917 eagle marker installed at the Maharlika Livelihood Center, Café by the Ruins, the White House of Teachers Camp, Liberation markers along Naguilian Road, Kennon Road and Marcos highway, Heritage House and Laperal White House, while the proposed heritage sites are Kennon Road viewpoint, site of the old observatory, the zigzag road, Camp Henry T. Allen, John Hay, Baguio Teachers Camp, Session road, Malcolm Square, Harrison road and Cabinet Hill.

The proposed heritage parks are Wright Park, Igorot Garden, Burnham Park, Sunshine Park, Mines View Park, Forbes Park and Pacdal circle, while the heritage schools are Quezon Elementary School, Fort del Pilar Elementary School Baguio Central School, Brent School, Easter School and St. Louis Primary School.

On the other hand, the proposed heritage churches are Our Lady of Atonement Cathedral, Church of the Resurrection and United Church of Christ in the Philippines, while heritage government buildings include the Baguio City Hall, Baguio Post Office, Baguio General Hospital and Medical Center, Presidential Mansion, Supreme Court, Old Government Center, US Ambassador’s cottage and Diplomat Hotel.

The Baguio Heritage Council shall be chaired by the city Mayor and co-chaired by the president of the Baguio Heritage Foundation, Inc. with the City Administrator as the action officer. Members of the council include the chairperson of the city council committee on education, culture and historical research, a registered anthropologist with vast knowledge about Baguio City and its origins, City Planning and Development Coordinator, City Building Official, City Engineer, City Tourism Officer, City Schools Division Superintendent, DENR-CAR regional director, deans of the various colleges of architecture in the city, representative from the United Architecture of the Philippines, representative from the Philippine Institute of Civil Engineers, representative from the National Commission on Culture and the Arts, representative from the National Historical Institute, representative from the Heritage Conservation Society, representative from the business sector, representative from the Office of Senior Citizens Affairs, representative from the youth sector and representative from the Baguio Arts Guild.

The ordinance seeks the appropriation of P500,000 from the annual general fund of the city for the successful implementation of the measure.

Among the duties and functions of the council are: formulate plans, policies and guidelines for the preservation, restoration, re-development and re-sue of the heritage zones, sites and structures; prepare the design of specific projects and activities for implementation and coordinate the implementation of plans; evaluate and monitor the implementation of plans, projects and guidelines and identify other sites or structures for declaration as heritage sites, or structures and work for their inclusion in the national heritage list./Dexter A. See


Visitor Counter