Lakan, Lakambini, Outstanding SCs Feted

Lakan, Lakambini, Outstanding SCs Feted

VOL. XVIII NO. 4 (Nov 1-7, 2014)

BAGUIO CITY – The 2014 Senior Citizen Lakan and Lakambini of Baguio were honored last Tuesday afternoon during the “Pista Sa Nayon: Pagpupugay kay Lolo at Lola” at the Baguio Convention Center; as were the selected Best SC association from the barangays.
The occasion served as the culminating activity of elderly month; with the theme, “Ang Nakakatanda ay Yaman, Katuwang sa Pag-unlad ng Bayan, Pangalagaan Kanilang Kapakanan.”

Pairs Luis Gawisan and Benita Gawisan, and Edgardo Sualog and Ofelia Basbas were crowned Lakan and Lakambini of the Philippine Government Retirees Association (PGRA) and Federation of Baguio Senior Citizen Association (FBASECA).

The “putongan” ceremony, and pinning of sashes were done by Councilors Michael Lee Lawana, Joel Alangsab, Betty Lourdes Tabanda, and Social Welfare and Development Officer Betty Fangasan, with a harana afterwards.

For the choral contest, PGRA group won first place with Boy Scout pioneer Jaime Castro on harmonica; as District 3 landed second place. In the ethnic dance competition, Dontogan brgy placed first, while Asin road and San Vicente barangay is second and third place, respectively.

Aurora Hill participants with their colorful costumes, folding fans and waving kerchiefs won first place in the folkdance contest. Lower QM barangay with color-coordinated native costumes copped the second place, while Engineers hill barangay’s lively dance in third place.

For the Best Performing SC Association, certificates of participation were given to Holy Ghost Proper, New Lucban, Ambiong, East Bayan Park, Brookspoint, Brookside, Holy Ghost Extension, Bayan Park Aurora Hill, DPS Compound, P. Burgos, San Luis, East Quirino Hill, Imelda Marcos, Bakakeng Norte and Sur, City Camp Proper, Ferdinand, Guisad Surong, Dominican Mirador, San Antonio, Greenwater, Santo Tomas, Asin rd., and Marcoville through their respective Punong Barangays.

Awarded as Best Performing SC Association is Gibraltar barangay with a P15,000 cash prize, claimed through their president Isaias Barongan, second place with a P12,000 cash prize is Middle Quezon hill represented by Punong Barangay Editha Ibarra, and third place with P10,000 is Dizon Subdivision, represented by Teresita Quero.

Lopez Jaena and Upper Rock Quarry tied for the 4th place, Middle Rock Quarry, SLU-SVP, Engineers Hill, Irisan, Pinget, Santo Nino, Lower QM, San Vicente, Camp Allen, Pinsao Proper, Gabriela Silang, were 5th to 15th place, respectively; with plaques of recognition and participation.

The awardees for the best SC Association were evaluated as to plan of action, documentation of activities done, training and seminars conducted or attended by members of the association; interaction outside of the barangay, or with local and national programs. Projects, if any, impact to the community, stability of the group, as to the number of members and years of existence, is also considered.

The awardees were screened by the OCSWD and office of Betty Lourdes Tabanda, city hall employees from the City Planning Office Raul Ocasion, Nellie de la Cerna, Marieta Joven from the Health Services Office, Department of Interior and Local Government Officer Ameurfina Lapastora, Community Affairs Officer Noel Mabutas, City Human Resources Management Officer Estrella Bisquerra, Lorna Fontanilla and Carmellita Bayquen.

The occasion is also in consonance with the government’s move to maintain the SCs social skills and community relations, and support for their accomplishments and continuing nation-building skills.

During the month-long celebration in Baguio, activities done were: Senior Citizen Officials For-A-Day (SCOFAD), ecumenical service, medical and dental mission, children’s feeding program, kapihan, parade and achievers’ award, forum on anti-drug abuse, Disaster and Risk Reduction Management strategies, Palaro, and cultural presentation./Julie G. Fianza


Visitor Counter