Panagbenga 2016 program committees reconstituted

BAGUIO CITY – The Baguio Flower Festival in the city is fast approaching, thus mayor Mauricio Domogan recently signed and issued Administrative Order No. 134 reconstituting the different Panagbenga 2016 program committees.

The mayor will chair the Panagbenga Policy and Program Review Committee with honorary-chair Congressman Nicasio Aliping, Jr., co-chair vice mayor Edison Bilog and members Tourism, special event, parks and program, councilor Elmer Datuin, ABC president, coun. Michael Lawana, Anthony de Leon, Frederico Alquiros, Engr. Bernardo Vergara, Arch. Josie Alabanza, Narda Capuyan, Dr. Julie Cabato, Dr. Francis Cesar Bringas, Atty. Renato Rondez, Ramon Cabrera, Dir. Marie Venus Tan, Dir. Helen Tibaldo and Rev. Gilbert Sales.

The Policy Review Committee are tasked to oversee the implementation of the programmed activities for the Panagbenga while the Program Committees are obliged to plan, organize and implement various activities lined up for the festival and shall coordinate the activities to be implemented by the different program committees.

The Executive Committee headed by de Leon will promulgate rules and regulations and will approve any additional activities covering the running of Panagbenga and will supervise, oversee and monitor all the activities.

The grand street dancing and opening parade will be chaired by coun. Datuin, while grand float parade will be chaired by de Leon.

Coun. Elaine Sembrano will chair the Baguio Blooms Exhibition and Exposition and Alquiros will chair the Let A Thousand Flowers Bloom Handog ng Panagbenga sa Pamilya Baguio.

Session Road in Bloom will be chaired by Mary Lou Galiste, Pony Boy’s Day to be led by coun. Lawana.

Leading the Panagbenga Flower Tee Golf Tournament will be coun. Richard Cariño.

School-based activated will be managed by Dr. Bringas and the other events will be chaired by Atty. Leticia Clemente. While the closing and awarding ceremonies will be led by de Leon.

Chairing the different program support committees are Atty. Clemente-Finance Committee; de Leon-Advertising and Promotions; Alquiros-Solicitations and marketing Committee; P/SSupt. Rolando Miranda-Security, Peace and Order, Traffic and Crowd Control Committee; Engr. Nazita Bañez-Billboards and Signs Committee; Dr. Rowena Galpo-Medical and Emergency Committee; Romeo Concio-Environmental/Technical Support Committee; Coun. Betty Lourdes Tabanda-Judges Selection Committee; Andrew Pinero-Media Relations Committee; Atty. Carlos-Foreign Group Participation; coun. Lawana-Barangay Participation Committee; and Evangeline Payno-Secretariat and Protocol Committee.

Next year’s Baguio Flower Festival will focus more on living flowers than short-lived cut flowers in its 2nd edition in February with the theme, “Bless the Children with Flowers”.

Panagbenga is a community-led and government tourism project spearheaded by the Baguio Flower Festival Foundation, Inc. and the city government of Baguio for the benefit of promoting the city’s culture, unity among its people, tourism and economic industries and showcasing Baguio as a City of Flowers./Jho Arranz


Visitor Counter