Panagbenga 2017 committees reconstituted anew

BAGUIO CITY – The committees for Panagbenga 2017 from government and private sectors were reconstituted through Administrative Order 175, s. 2016 to avoid overlapping of activities and insure the smooth staging of the major tourism event in the city.

Now in its 22nd year, Panagbenga spearheaded by the Baguio Flower Festival Foundation Inc. (BFFFI) and the City Government of Baguio promotes the city’s being the city of flowers, its culture, community spirit, tourism and economic industries.

Activities of Panagbenga are planned, organized and implemented by the program committees, as the policy review committee oversees the implementation, with the executive committee coordinates the activities for proper execution.

Mayor Mauricio Domogan heads the police and program review committee, with Vice-Mayor Edison Bilog as co-chairperson, members are; Councilors Elmer Datuin and Michael Lawana Hotel and Restaurant Association of Baguio (HRAB) officials Anthony de Leon, Frederico Alquiros and Evangeline Payno, Engr. Bernardo Vergara, Arch. Jodie Alabanza, Dr. Julie Cabato, and Ramon Cabrera.

Other members are Department of Tourism Venus Tan, Philippine Information Agency Director Helen Tibaldo, University of the Cordillera VP Dr. Leonarda Aguinalde, Atty. Renato Rondez, Atty. Augustin Laban III of the Department of Education. Congressman Mark Go is honorary chairman of the committee.

The executive committee, among others include City Budget Officer Atty. Leticia Clemente, City Administrator Atty. Carlos Canilao, City Engineer Elpidio Garabiles, businessman Atty. Moises Cating.

The grand streetdancing and opening parade committee is headed by Councilor Elmer Datuin, with co-chair Alquiros and the Panagbenga Cultural committee chair and co-chair, while the grand floral float parade committee is chaired by HRAB head de Leon.

The Let a Thousand Flowers Bloom Handog ng Panagbenga Sa Pamilya Baguio committee is chaired by Alquiros with Councilor Peter Fianza as co-chair, while the Baguio Blooms Exhibition and Exposition committee is headed by Councilor Elaine Sembrano with Annabelle Ramos as co-chair.

Mary Lou Galiste heads the Session road in Bloom committee with Councilor Lilia Farinas as co-chair; while school-based activities are taken care of by Atty. Augustin Laban III, Councilor Fianza, Dr. Elma Donaal, Dr. Fernando Eleponga, Planning Officer Evelyn Cayat and Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) head Evelyn Trinidad.

Councilor Lawana heads the pony boys’ day with the Baguio Pony Boys’ Association President as co-chair. He also chairs the flower tee golf tournament with Andrew Pinero as co-chair. Other events are chaired by City Budget Officer Atty. Clemente.

Other committees and respective chairs are: Closing and Awarding ceremonies, HRAB head de Leon; Finance, Atty Clemente; Advertising and Promotions, de Leon; Solicitation and Marketing, Alquiros; Security, Peace and Order, Traffic and Crowd control, P/SSupt Ramil Saculles; Billboards and Signs, Engr. Nazita Banez; Medical and Emergency, Health Services Officer Dr. Rowena Galpo;

Judges Selection, Councilor Mylen Victoria Yaranon; Media Relations, Andrew Pinero; Foreign Group participation; City Administrator Canilao; Barangay Participation, Councilor Lawana; Secretariat and Protocol; Evangeline Payno.

AO 175 mandates that the committees “come out with necessary ways and means, styles and procedures of running the activities respectively assigned to them, not violative of the rules promulgated for Panagbenga 2017 and subject to the executive committees’ powers of supervision and monitoring.”

“All net proceeds realized in the 2017 Panagbenga shall accrue to the BFFFI as additional starting fund for the 2018 Panagbenga,” the administrative order also states./Julie G. Fianza#


Visitor Counter