Ten outstanding punong barangays named

BAGUIO CITY – The Rotary Club of Metro Baguio (RCMB) awarded anew the city’s ten outstanding punong barangays for 2017 in ceremonies held May 18 at the Hotel Supreme.

The club headed by president Elmie Manansala has been conducting the awards program for 24 years now.

The outstanding punong barangays were Ferdinand Bucad of Hillside, Federico Codley of Atok Trail, Oliver Van Dicang of Lower Quirino Hill, Guillerma Francisco of North Central Aurora Hill, Gil Lomboy of Country Club, Murphy Maspil Sr. of Holy Ghost Proper, Wilbert Ponce of Andres Bonifacio, William Regacho of Trancoville, Andres Remorque Jr. of Upper QM and Julita Sagun of Upper General Luna Road.

Elevated to the Hall of Fame for winning the award for three consecutive years were punong barangays Luis Badecao Jr. of Upper Rock Quarry, Ignacio Genesis Gallente of Middle Quirino Hill, Timothy Pudlao Jr. of Kias and Catherin Quinones of MRR-Queen of Peace.

The barangay leader awardees were chosen for their exemplary leadership and selfless service to the community.

Baguio Rep. Marquez Go and Mayor Mauricio Domogan who graced the awarding program lauded the RCMB for sustaining the awards program which they said gives additional incentives to the barangay leaders to perform their duties.

At the same time, they cited the awardees for living up to the demand of their mandate and to continue serving their constituents without expecting any reward.

Manansala said the search has for the past 24 years remained competitive.

“In fact, all of the 128 punong barangays in the city are winners for their hands-on management and control of the smallest political unit. Their existence is a must,” she said. /Aileen P. Refuerzo


Visitor Counter